James M. Graves's Profile Image

James M. Graves

Phone: 479-751-5222
Fax: 479-751-5777

James Graves was born December 22, 1969, in Navato, California. James was a military dependent growing up and lived in Alaska, Florida, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Texas, and Zaragoza, Spain. He graduated from high school in Benton, Arkansas. He is married to Angie Webber Graves, and they have had three sons: Jackson Lee, Charles Jackson, and Henry James. Jackson passed away in 2005; Charlie was born in 2006 and Henry in 2008. James lives in Fayetteville, and his legal practice focuses on civil litigation and business and real estate transactional work.


  • Benton High School, 1987
  • University of Arkansas, B.S.B.A., Accounting, 1991
  • University of Arkansas School of Law, J.D., 1995
  • University of Arkansas Band/Music Scholarship, 1987-1988
  • Phillip's Petroleum Fellowship, Accounting, 1989
  • University of Arkansas, B.S.B.A., Accounting, 1991
  • Jewell Minnis Scholarship in Law, 1994
  • Jay Dickey Memorial Scholarship in Law, 1994
  • Arkansas Law Review Editor, 1994-1995


James has been admitted to practice before the Arkansas Supreme Court; Missouri Supreme Court; Oklahoma Supreme Court; United States District Courts for the Eastern and Western Districts of Arkansas, Northern and Eastern District of Oklahoma, and Southwestern District of Missouri; and the United States Courts of Appeals for the Eighth and Tenth Circuits.

  • Little Rock City Attorney, Clerk, 1991
  • Bassett Law Firm, Clerk, 1993-1995
  • Bassett Law Firm, Associate Attorney, 1995-1999
  • Bassett Law Firm, LLP, Partner, 2000-2021
  • Crouch, Harwell, Fryar & Ferner, PLLC, Attorney, 2021-Present
  • Oklahoma Bar Association, 1995-present
  • Arkansas Bar Association, 1995-present (House of Delegates, 1997-1999)
  • Missouri Bar Association, 1996-present
  • Washington County Bar Association, 1995-present
  • Fayetteville Planning Commission, 2000-2008


  • Jackson Graves Foundation, Trustee, 2005-Present
  • Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce, Board of Directors, 2004-2010